Vegsource.com reviews The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Eating Raw

November 4, 2008 at 4:04 am Leave a comment

The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Eating Raw

Review by Gail Davis of Vegsource.com

With it’s breezy writing style and in-depth information, The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Eating Raw is the first book I’ve read to truly take the mystery out of living a raw foods lifestyle. With clear, concise instructions on techniques such as dehydrating, soaking, sprouting, culturing, and pickling, this book inspired me to dust off my Excalibur dehydrator and Saldocca spiralizer, and get back into the fun of making exciting and delicious raw food meals.

But I’m a simple girl at heart. And the fact that I randomly opened the book to the recipe for Lavender-Orange Sun Tea was no accident, I’m sure. I made my first batch that very same day and immediately became hooked on its sweetly scented flavor. That simple recipe alone was worth the price of the book.

Moving ever so gingerly along the living foods continuum, I tried my hand at Cashew Cheese, and was delighted with its creamy consistency and tangy flavor. Becoming a bit more confident, I zoned in on the recipe for Cinnamon-Almond Fig Bread. After all, I needed something sweet and “doughy” to spread my cashew cheese on. So I soaked some nuts, figs, and dates, sprouted some wheat berries, and put my dehydrator to work. This “bread” was so tasty by itself, I almost forgot to top it with the cheese I had made. But I finally did eat them together, and my taste buds went into overdrive!

Preparing the Tropical Thai Coconut Soup involved no more than a bit of dicing, slicing, blending, optional dehydrating, and cracking open a young coconut. (Thank goodness they provided clear instructions for that!) The end result was a sensationally fragrant and creamy soup that tasted as good as any cooked Thom Ka I’ve ever eaten.

I can’t wait to (literally) sink my teeth into some of the taste-tempting recipes for raw ravioli, pasta, and mu-shu and the mouth-watering dessert recipes that include a variety of puddings, pies, and parfaits.

If like me, you’re trying to transition to eating more raw foods, you’ll appreciate the tips and tricks for eating raw in day-to-day life, succeeding as a raw traveler, and ideas on how to introduce your kids to the pleasure of eating raw foods.

Entry filed under: Complete Idiot's Guide to Eating Raw. Tags: , , , , .

Celebrating Vegan Lifestyles The History of Raw Foods

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Vegan Fusion on Facebook

Vegan Fusion on Twitter

Follow Vegan Fusion on Twitter Please click the Twitter icon and follow us on Twitter!

RSS Vegan Fusion’s Latest Tweets

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

Archives


