The Happy Herbivore Reviews The 30-Minute Vegan

August 8, 2009 at 4:16 am 1 comment

After I finished reviewing Vegan Brunch, the publisher asked me if I would be interested in reviewing their latest cookbook, 30-Minute Vegan. As a girl on the go, I knew this cookbook would be great for me and since I know many of my readers also live a crazy life, I knew a review would be beneficial for you! :)

scaled30mv_bookcover1I had a difficult time picking out what recipes I wanted to make for this review because everything sounded heavenly. What caught my attention, though, was that several of the recipes are live or have live options. With it being so hot here in New York this summer, I’ve been eating more raw foods to keep cool. (A hot apartment is no fun!). I decided to make a few live recipes, as well as a few that weren’t, to give the cookbook a full review.

I have enjoyed every recipe I have made and look forward to making more recipes in the future. If you follow me on twitter you’ve been hearing me rave about this cookbook for a while now. 30-Minute Vegan is a must-have for anyone who wants healthy, quick meals. What I like best about this cookbook is that it covers all diet preferences. Some recipes are raw and fat heavy while others are raw and low fat. Then there are low fat cooked meals and of course, more decadent cooked meals. The 30-Minute Vegan has something for everyone and enough variety to keep us happy, fed and inspired. From pancakes to pates, nachos to soups, it’s all in there. I highly recommend this cookbook!

Live Pepita PateLive Pepita Pate and a side salad.
The pate is really flavorful and reminded me of tuna salad.

Live Cinnamon BunsLive Cinnamon Buns
These buns are so close to the baked variety it’s uncanny. They are absolutely delicious and half of one bun keeps me full all morning. I didn’t make the icing because I don’t keep coconut butter on hand, but I bet they’re even more awesome iced!

Ginger Collard GreensGingered Collard Greens with fresh corn and quinoa
These greens were freakin’ awesome. I had three helpings!
Spelt Pancakes“Buttermilk” Pancakes
Just look how fluffy those pancakes are!
The recipe also uses spelt flour which adds a nice grainy/nutty taste to the pancakes.

NachosWe Will Rock You Three-Layer Nachos (not layered)
I served this recipe as two “dips” instead of one when we had friends over recently.  While both were far too watery for my preferences, they taste was spot on. I also liked how quick, easy and fat-free the cheese was!

Entry filed under: Reviews.

The Hungry Vegan Reviews The 30-Minute Vegan Free Recipe from The 30-Minute Vegan – Macadamia Nut Crusted Tofu

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. hanlie  |  August 9, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    Thanks! I’ve been looking at this book, but couldn’t decide! Your endorsement helps!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Vegan Fusion on Facebook

Vegan Fusion on Twitter

Follow Vegan Fusion on Twitter Please click the Twitter icon and follow us on Twitter!

RSS Vegan Fusion’s Latest Tweets

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

upload

#maui #hawaii #vegan #travel

#Guatemala #vegan #travel

#Belize #sunset #vegan #travel

#santorini #Greece #sunset #vegan #vegetarian #travel

#Bath #England #vegan #travel

More Photos

Archives


