Mornin’ Fruit Bowl – Vegan Crunk Reviews The 30-Minute Vegan

November 4, 2009 at 7:39 am 1 comment

Mornin’ Fruit Bowl

For some reason, when I get new cookbooks, I always make the ridiculously easy recipes first. You know, the recipes that are so simple, you kinda wonder why you even need a recipe. Even though those sorts of easy meals are common sense, I’m always intrigued by simple recipe ideas that I couldn’t have thought up on my own. Take for example, this Walnut Fruit Bowl from 30 Minute Vegan:

 

It’s just mango, banana, a few frozen blackberries, walnuts, and soymilk. That’s it. The recipe actually called for fresh figs, but I subbed blackberries when I couldn’t find any figs. The thing is, I would never think to throw fruit in a bowl with milk unless that bowl also contained cereal. But this bowl was pretty filling without carbs. And I felt super-healthy starting my day with lots of fruit, a food group I don’t really eat from often enough.

The book, 30 Minute Vegan, was a birthday gift from my boyfriend. It’s by Mark Reinfeld and Jennifer Murray (also the authors of the awesome full-color book Vegan Fusion). Though most of the meals — like this fruit bowl — take far less than 30 minutes, a few are more complicated and take longer than a half hour to prepare. The book features a great mix of healthy cooked and raw meals, which is perfect for an occasional raw foodie like me. In fact, I’m making another recipe from the book for Raw Food Day tomorrow. But you’ll have to wait and see what it is…

Entry filed under: Recipes, Reviews, The 30-Minute Vegan. Tags: , , .

Raw Cinnamon Rolls – recipe from The 30-Minute Vegan Raw Food Class on Kaua’i

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. cookingforaveganlover  |  November 4, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    I am currently working my way through 30 Minute Vegan and I am loving it! I made the Batter Baked Tempura with the Spicy Mustard Dipping Sauce and the Eggless Egg Salad- Both are delicious. I will be posting a review soon.

    I also have received a copy of Vegan Fusion World Cuisine and am planning to work my way through this one in the next few weeks so look for a review of this as well!

    Thanks, Lindsay

    p.s. I have been looking at Bianca’s post and I’m really excited to make a number of the recipes in the book. She just posted about the Live Un-Stir Fry it looks and sounds amazing! http://vegancrunk.blogspot.com/2009/11/raw-food-good-and-bleh.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Vegan Fusion on Facebook

Vegan Fusion on Twitter

Follow Vegan Fusion on Twitter Please click the Twitter icon and follow us on Twitter!

RSS Vegan Fusion’s Latest Tweets

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

Archives


