Vegan Stuffed Mushrooms – Vegan in Bellingham reviews The 30-Minute Vegan

January 20, 2010 at 7:51 am Leave a comment

Vegan Stuffed Mushrooms

One not-so-great aspect of this long weekend is that both my husband and I have been feeling a bit under-the-weather. As a result, we upped our intake of “superfoods,” started the day with a minty green smoothie, and despite our lack of energy, decided that a little fresh air and sunshine could only help, so we managed to get outside for a walk in the sunshine, (albeit a brief and rather slow walk, but a walk none-the-less).
These short dark days start to take a toll on me by mid-January, and so I was pleased to discover in the most current issue of Vegetarian Times that mushrooms, one of my favorite things ever, are one of the only food-based sources naturally high in Vitamin D. How fitting that I make us stuffed mushrooms today from a recipe out of my current favorite cookbook, The 30-Minute Vegan. Basically you need some large mushrooms which you then wash and de-stem, throwing the stems into the food processor. (The recipe calls for 18 mushrooms; I only had eight but they were a good size and I didn’t let that stop me. Actually, what follows below is a little different than the original recipe, just based on the logistics of what I had or did not have in my pantry.)
I then preheated the oven to 450, added 1 cup of fresh spinach, 1 chopped red bell pepper, 2 cloves of garlic, 1/4 cup homemade cashew nut cheese, 1/4 cup vegan cream cheese, 1/4 cup nutritional yeast, 3/4 teaspoon salt, 1 tablespoon Italian Seasoning, 1 chopped yellow onion, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper into the food processor with the mushroom stems and blended it all together. I then stuffed my empty mushroom caps and baked them for 20 minutes, although I think next time I might try decreasing the temperature and increasing the cooking time to make the mushrooms a little more tender.

These turned out lovely and we devoured them quickly, enjoying the flavor while also hoping the vitamins would do their work. I think these would make fabulous party appetizers as well, and I will definitely be making them again sometime soon, hopefully on a healthier and sunnier day!

Entry filed under: Reviews, The 30-Minute Vegan. Tags: , .

Vegan Fusion Intensive – Day 1 – Soups Vegan Fusion Intensive – Day 2 – Salads and Dressings

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Vegan Fusion on Facebook

Vegan Fusion on Twitter

Follow Vegan Fusion on Twitter Please click the Twitter icon and follow us on Twitter!

RSS Vegan Fusion’s Latest Tweets

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Flickr Photos

Archives


